Sunday, March 25, 2007

On March 25, ...

... 1957 (50 years ago today), Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands signed the Treaty of Rome Establishing the European Community. Today the descendant of this "Common Market," the European Union, has 27 member states.
... 1807 (200 years ago today), the British Parliament passed An Act for the Abolition of the Slave Trade. The act would take full effect in 1808, as did a similar U.S. statute; however, it would be decades before enslavement of persons from Africa ended in either country.

No comments: