Wednesday, June 10, 2009

ASIL congrats to IntLawGrrls et al.

Delighted to note that a number of IntLawGrrls have just assumed responsibilities within the American Society of International Law:
► IntLawGrrl Hari M. Osofsky is a Co-Chair of the ASIL Annual Meeting Program Committee, as announced in this call for papers post. Hari joins Russ LaMotte and Allen Weiner in that role.
► IntLawGrrls Rebecca Bratspies, Hope Lewis, and Beth Van Schaack, along with IntLawGrrl guest/alumna Chimène Keitner, have been appointed members of the Annual Meeting Program Committee. Joining them are Angela Banks, Curtis Bradley, William Burns, Charles Camp, Anupam Chander, James Gathii, Celia Goldman, Katherine Gorove, Avril Haines, Eckhard Hellbeck, David Kaye, Lillian Aponte Miranda, Steve Pomper, Catherine Powell, Vikram Raghavan, Leila Nadya Sadat, and Natalya Scimeca.
►IntLawGrrl Susana SáCouto is now a member of ASIL's Honors Committee, chaired by Lucinda Lowe. Other members are Doak Bishop, John Cerone, Susan Franck, and Vaughan Lowe.
► Chairing the Awards Committee will be Paul Stephan, aided by members Daphne Barak-Erez, Mark Drumbl, Chiara Giorgetti, and Rob Sloane.
► Nominating Committee Chair is José Alvarez; members are Pieter Bekker, Charles Hunnicutt, Jane Stromseth, Adrien Wing, and Edith Brown Weiss.
► David Kaye and Cymie Payne will join Amy Porges as editors of ASIL Insights, taking up the work of departing editors David Fidler and IntLawGrrls guest/alumna Peggy McGuinness, also an ASIL Executive Council member.
► The women mentioned in boldface above join President Lucy Reed, Vice President Diane Marie Amann, and Executive Council members Janie Chuang and Stephanie Farrior, and Andrea K. Bjorklund as IntLawGrrls in ASIL leadership.

Heartfelt congratulations!

(And a hearty hat tip to Emil Dixon, 3d-year student at the University of California, Davis, School of Law, for designing IntLawGrrls' logo!)

No comments: