Wednesday, September 9, 2009

On September 9

On this day in ...
... 1379 (630 years ago today), at Neuberg an der Mürz (contemporary photo at right), 2 brothers, both dukes of the House of Habsburg, concluded the Treaty of Neuberg, by which they divided the family lands in what now comprises Austria, as well as parts of Slovenia, northern Italy, southern Germany, and eastern France. The lands were reunified under a single archduke in 1490.

(Prior September 9 posts are here and here.)

No comments: