Tuesday, August 3, 2010

ASIL honorees, awardees sought

Following our earlier posts respecting requests for nominations to leadership positions in the American Society of International Law (here) and to the Board of Editors of the American Journal of International Law (here):
ASIL committees seek nominations for the following:

Medals, Honor Certificate
ASIL's Honors Committee -- chaired by John Crook and also including IntLawGrrl Hope Lewis, as well as our colleagues Vaughan Lowe, Ved Nanda, and Kathleen Paisley -- asks ASIL members to nominate persons for the Society's highest honors, to be awarded at the annual meeting next March:
Goler T. Butcher Medal (right), given to a distinguished person of American or other nationality for outstanding contributions to the development or effective realization of international human rights law. The medal commemorates the lifework of Goler Teal Butcher (1925-1993), an IntLawGrrls foremother, whose many achievements included Howard University Law Professor, State Department official, and head of the U.S. Agency for International Development. Previous honorees include another IntLawGrrls foremother, Virginia Leary (prior post), as well as IntLawGrrls guest/alumna Hilary Charlesworth; here is the full list of honorees.
Manley O. Hudson Medal (right), given from time to time, without regard to recipient's nationality, for scholarship and achievement in international law. The medal commemorates the lifework of Manley Ottmer Hudson (1886-1960), whose many achievements included Harvard Law Professor, Judge on the Permanent Court of International Justice and ASIL President. As posted, the 2010 Medal winner was another past President, Edith Brown Weiss, a Georgetown Law Professor; here is a list of all previous honorees.
► Designation as Honorary Member, for a non-U.S. citizen who has rendered distinguished contributions or service in the field of international law. Previous honorees here.
The Honors Committee welcomes nominations for each of these three honors, to be submitted no later than August 31, 2010, via the online nomination form available here. The Committee will include in its consideration nominations made in previous years; it invites persons who made nominations in previous years to supplement their earlier letters as appropriate.
Questions may be directed to the Committee by contacting Veronica Onorevole at 2011awards@asil.org.

Scholarship Awards
Authors, publishers, and readers are encouraged to submit works appropriate for the book awards known as ASIL Certificates of Merit, given for preeminent contribution to:
► Creative scholarship;
► Specialized area of international law; and/or
► High technical craftsmanship.
(Previous honorees here.) Eligible are books by authors of any nationality, published in any language and at any place in the 24 months preceding February 1, 2011. To nominate, send 6 copies of the work no later than October 1, 2010, to Veronica Onorevole, Executive Office & Programs Manager, American Society of International Law, 2223 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20008.

No comments: