Sunday, August 1, 2010

Cluster bomb ban in force

Chalk up another law regulating the way that war is waged.
The Convention on Cluster Munitions today enters into force for the 30-plus countries that have joined the treaty since it was adopted on May 30, 2008, in Dublin, Ireland. To date this this legal prohibition on the use, production, stockpiling and transfer of cluster munitions has been ratified by these countries : Albania, Austria, Belgium, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Comoros, Croatia, Denmark, Equador, Fiji, France, Germany, The Holy See, Ireland, Japan, The Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Luxembourg, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malawi, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom, Uruguay and Zambia.
This November in Vientiane, Laos, states parties will assemble for the 1st time.
The campaign for more states parties to the treaty continues. (Prior IntLawGrrls posts) Campaign tools include the International Committee of the Red Cross publication Death in the fields, a moving comic book, by Swiss-Lebanese cartoonist Chappatte. It depicts the harm that cluster bombs wreak on children and their communities in South Lebanon.

No comments: