Monday, September 20, 2010

On September 20

On this day in ...
... 1960 (50 years ago today), the United Nations admitted 14 newly independent States -- Cyprus plus 13 African countries, Cameroon, Central Africa Republic, Chad, Dahomey (today, Benin), Gabon, Ivory Coast, Malagasy Republic (Madagascar), Niger, Republic of the Congo-Brazzaville, Republic of Congo-Leopoldville (Democratic Republic of Congo), Somalia, Togo, and Upper Volta (Burkina Faso). As a result of this admission, predicted The New York Times, "The voting balance will have shifted decisively from the big 'cold war' superpowers to the smaller nations." At the end of the month, flags of the new members were raised (right) at U.N. headquarters in New York. (photo credit)

(Prior September 20 posts are here, here, and here.)

No comments: