Wednesday, October 12, 2011

On October 12

On this day in ...
... 2001 (10 years ago today), the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced that the 2001 Nobel Peace Prize would go to the United Nations and to Kofi Annan, the man then serving as its Secretary-General. (credit for photo of Annan, far left, and U.N. General Assembly President Han Seung-soo, near left, at December 2001 awards ceremony) Underscoring that this would be the 100th year of awarding the prize, the Committee's chairman, as reported by The New York Times,

stressed that the body 'wishes in its centenary year to proclaim that the only negotiable route to global peace and cooperation goes by way of the United Nations.'

Peace Prizes also awarded to United Nations officials/subunits over the years: 1961, posthumously to Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjöld; 1954 and 1981, to the U.N.High Commissioner for Refugees; 1965, to UNICEF; and 1988, to U.N. peacekeepers.

(Prior October 12 posts are here, here, here, and here.)

No comments: