Monday, December 26, 2011

On December 26

On this day in ...
... 1933, conclusion of the 7th International Conference of American States, held in Montevideo, Uruguay, was marked by the signing of an inter-American Convention on the Nationality of Women. The 5-articles treaty contained a single, one-sentence substantive provision; specifically, states pledged:

There shall be no distinction based on sex as regards nationality, in their legislation or in their practice.

Signing were Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the United States, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Out of the several dozen of plenipotentiaries representing the signatory states, 3 were women -- immediately apparent because the list attached honorifics only to women's names. As so listed, they were: for the United States, "Miss" Sophonisba Breckinridge (above left), the then-68-year-old University of Chicago professor and holder of a Ph.D. in political science, as well as a J.D. (prior posts) (photo credit); for Uruguay, "Señora" Sofia A.V. De Demicheli; and for Paraguay, "Señorita" María F. González, presumably the same woman, age 50 by 1934, described in a 1921 almanac as a schoolteacher and vice president of the Associación Feminista Paraguaya. The treaty entered into force in 1934, the same year that the United States became a party to it.

(Prior December 26 posts are here, here, here, and here.)

No comments: