Thursday, December 8, 2011

On December 8

On this day in ...
... 2004, leaders of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela signed the Declaración del Cusco sobre la Comunidad Sudamericana de Naciones in the Peruvian city for which this Cusco Declaration is named. The instrument called for the establishment of a Union of South American Nations, or UNASUR, "to be shaped through the gradual convergence of the Andean Community and MERCOSUR and Chile, together with Guyana and Suriname." The Constitutive Treaty of UNASUR (website here) was adopted in 2008 and entered into force this past March.

(Prior December 8 posts are here, here, here, and here.)

No comments: