Wednesday, March 28, 2012

On March 28

On this day in ...
... 1997 (15 years ago today), the Treaty on the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone entered into force. It had been signed on December 15, 1995, in Bangkok, Thailand. The treaty bans the development, manufacture, acquisition, possession, storage, testing, or disposal of nuclear weapons or their wastes within a "Zone" comprehending
'the territories of all States in Southeast Asia, namely, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, and their respective continental shelves and Exclusive Economic Zones (EEZ) ...'
Ten states are members of the treaty regime, and the 5 permanent member states of the U.N. Security Council have agreed by protocol to adhere to the treaty ban. (image credit)

(Prior March 28 posts are here, here, here, here, and here.)

No comments: