Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Write On! ASIL's Midyear Meeting

(Write On! is an occasional item about notable calls for papers)
As we announced in January, the American Society of International Law's Research Forum will be held at the University of Georgia School of Law on October 20-21, 2012. The deadline for paper proposals is this Sunday, April 15.
The Research Forum, a Society initiative introduced in 2011, aims to provide a setting for the presentation and focused discussion of works-in-progress by Society members. All ASIL members are invited to attend the Forum, whether presenting a paper or not.
Interested participants should submit an abstract (no more than 500 words in length) summarizing the scholarly paper to be presented at the Forum. Papers can be on any topic related to international and transnational law and should be unpublished (for purposes of the call, publication to an electronic database such as SSRN is not considered publication). Interdisciplinary projects, empirical studies, and jointly authored papers are welcome. Member proposals should be submitted here by April 15. Proposals will include 1) the name, institutional affiliation, professional position, and contact information for the author(s), and 2) an abstract. Review of the abstracts will be blind, and therefore abstracts should not include any identifying information about the author. Abstracts containing identifying information will not be reviewed. Proposals will be vetted by the Research Forum Committee with selections to be announced by July 15.
At present, it is the intent of the Research Forum Committee to organize the selected paper proposals around common issues, themes, and approaches. Discussants, who will comment on the papers, will be assigned to each cluster of papers. All authors will be required to submit a draft paper 4 weeks before the Research Forum. The expectation is that drafts will be posted on the Research Forum website.
The 2012 ASIL Research Forum Committee is co-chaired by IntLawGrrl contributor Laura Dickinson (George Washington) and Timothy Meyer (Georgia). IntLawGrrl contributor Hari Osofsky (Minnesota) is a member of the committee, which also includes Jose Alvarez (NYU), Laurence Helfer (Duke), Maximo Langer (UCLA), and David Zaring (Wharton).

No comments: