Tuesday, June 12, 2012

On June 12

On this day in ...
... 1902 (110 years ago today), the Governor-General signed into law the Commonwealth Franchise Act for an Uniform Federal Franchise (image credit), by which women in 4 Australian states who did not yet enjoy suffrage were granted the right to vote in elections for both houses of a new Commonwealth Parliament. The statute did not provide universal suffrage, however; it forbade "aboriginal native[s] of Australia Africa Asia or the Islands of the Pacific except New Zealand" from voting, unless they were otherwise covered under Australia's Constitution.

(Prior June 12 posts are here, here, here, here, and here.)

No comments: